What is required on a boat in Arkansas?

Boats propelled by sail or motor (including trolling motors) of any type must be registered when operated on public waters. You must have an Arkansas Certificate of Number (registration) and validation decals to operate a motorboat on Arkansas’ public waters.

What is required on a boat in Indiana?

All boats must carry one wearable (Type I, II, III, or V) U. S. Coast Guard-approved PFD for each person onboard or being towed. Boats 16 ft. in length (except a canoe or kayak) or longer must have one Type IV U.S. Coast Guard-approved PFD onboard and readily accessible. Each person on a PWC must wear an approved PFD.

What is required on a boat in Arkansas? – Related Questions

Can passengers drink on a boat in Indiana?

Open container laws don’t apply on boats the way they do in cars. In cars, drivers AND passengers are prohibited from actively drinking. In boats, everyone of legal age except the driver can drink. This allows for some extra fun, but it’s important to stay safe.

What stickers do I need on my boat?

Just as you wouldn’t drive your car without a license plate, current sticker, and registration, your boat must be properly numbered, must have a current state use sticker, and your registration, or “certificate of number”, must be aboard.

Do I need a DNR sticker on my boat in Indiana?

All watercraft operating on Indiana waterways must be registered with the BMV and display valid watercraft decals unless otherwise exempt.

Are you required to have boat insurance in Indiana?

The State of Indiana does not require boat insurance, but many ports and marinas require general, legal, and pollution liability coverage before issuing access to their facilities.

Does Indiana require a boaters license?

Do you need a Boating License in Indiana? Indiana law requires you to pass an approved boater safety course if you are at least 15 years old and will be operating a motorboat or PWC but do not have an Indiana driver’s license.

How much is a boating license in Indiana?

How can I get my Indiana boating license? A. You can obtain your Indiana Boater Education Card in 3 easy steps: Pay the one-time fee of $29.95 – free unlimited retries of the final exam.

Do you need a license to drive a pontoon boat in Indiana?

The Indiana Boater Education Card is proof that a boater has taken and passed an approved boater education course. As of January 1, 1996, all vessel or PWC operators are required to hold a valid driver’s license in order to operate on all Indiana public waters.

What additional equipment must be on board if your vessel is 16 ft or longer?

Vessels 16 feet and over, except canoes and kayaks, must have one wearable Coast Guard-approved life jacket of a type and size appropriate for the conditions and the boating activity being engaged in for each person aboard, plus at least one Type IV throwable flotation device.

Are you required to have a whistle on a boat?

To comply with Navigation Rules and for distress signaling purposes all boats must carry a sound producing device (whistle, horn, siren, etc.) capable of a 4-second blast audible for ½ mile.

What size boat requires a life ring?

(3) A vessel of more than 19.8 meters (65 feet) in length must carry a minimum of three life buoys of not less than 610 millimeters (24 inches) in diameter.

Do life rings expire?

There is no exact date for the expiry of lifebuoy rings. They can be inspected with respect to these points. Ensure the plastic on the ring has been not deter by being exposed to the sun. Ensure the grab line is not damaged; it should be securely attached to the ring.

How long do life rings last?

GrooveLife Rings are a silicone ring alternative to your traditional metal and diamond rings. They have basically a lifetime guarantee (94 years) & they will replace your ring if it breaks or even if you lose it! It also is the only silicone ring on the market that has grooves to allow your finger to breathe.

Is a VHF radio required on a boat?

Although not required in recreational boats under 65.5 feet long, a Very High Frequency (VHF) Marine Radio allows instant communication between your boat and other boats, marinas, bridges, and the United States Coast Guard (USCG).

What side of the boat do you pass on?

If you meet another boat head-on: Under the boating rules of the road, vessels approaching each other head-on are always supposed to pass each other port to port — or left to left, just like on the road.