Is snorkeling in Key West Worth It?

Crystal-clear, azure waters and warm year-round temperatures make Key West one of the top destinations for snorkeling in the U.S. Just 5 miles offshore, you’ll find a living coral barrier reef (the only one in the continental U.S.).

Are jet skis allowed in the Florida Keys?

Personal watercraft and airboats are prohibited in all National Parks and Wildlife Refuges in the Florida Keys.

Is snorkeling in Key West Worth It? – Related Questions

What should you not do in Key West?

What NOT To Do On Your Key West Vacation
  • Don’t Drive in Key West.
  • Don’t Think Duval Street Has All the Restaurants.
  • Don’t Let Prices Scare You Off.
  • Don’t Forget These Key West Essentials:
  • Don’t Feel Bad Taking a Trolley or Train Tour.
  • Don’t Miss Sunset in Key West.
  • Don’t Expect Sandy Beaches.

Can you touch key deer?

Feeding, touching or capturing, or harassing of Key deer, alligators and other wildlife is strictly prohibited. No motorized vehicles on trails or off-road.

Can you ride a jet ski from Miami to Key West?

Absolutely! You must make reservations at least 24 hours in advance and we highly suggest making reservations well before that, as this bus tour does tend to sell out, especially during busy times of the year. How long is the ride down to Key West? Key West is approximately 160 miles from Miami.

What are the jet ski laws in Florida?

A person must be at least 14 years of age to operate a personal watercraft in Florida. A person must be at least 18 years of age to rent a personal watercraft in Florida. It is unlawful for a person to knowingly allow a person under 14 years of age to operate a personal watercraft (a second-degree misdemeanor).

How old do you have to be to drive a jetski in the Keys?

You must be 18 or older to rent a PWC, though age requirements differ when it comes to driving one. Children as young as 14 are permitted to operate a PWC, but most rental companies require that the child is accompanied by an adult.

What is the leading cause of death in boating accidents in Florida?

Capsizing. This is the leading cause of boating accident fatalities. Many accidents occur in twilight when light conditions and alcohol may induce poor judgment.

Do you need insurance for a jet ski in Florida?

The State of Florida does not require jet ski owners to insure their personal watercraft. However, it is a very good idea to purchase an insurance policy before you head out on the water.

How much does it cost to rent a jet ski in Florida?

The average price of renting a jet ski for one hour in Florida is about $90-$150. Keep in mind that this number does not factor in any fuel fees initially charged during the rental process. If you are bringing your own life preserver, then there is no additional fee for renting the jet ski.

Do you need a boating license to rent a jetski in Florida?

Before your next jet ski excursion in Florida, it is important to be informed about some of the facts. When hoping to rent a jet ski for the day, you will need a boating license. Although obtaining a boating license for a simple excursion may seem excessive, having a boating license is important.

Why are jet skis so expensive to rent?

There are many reasons to rent, including maintenance and upfront costs. The costs don’t end there. A jet ski can also cost more than a car because it requires maintenance all year. You can read more about why renting a jet ski is better than buying one.

Are jet ski rentals worth it?

A jet ski rental is well worth the money you spend because it will surely give you a fun summer adventure. Go on a PWC adventure and enjoy a memorable family outing.