Do I have to register my boat in South Carolina?

In the state of South Carolina, the law requires all motorized boats and watercraft, except exempted vessels, sailboats, and all outboard motors five horsepower and greater to be titled.

How do I register an out of state boat in SC?

What do I Need to Know about Registering an Out of State Boat in South Carolina
  1. Title in your name if you’re moving from a titling-state.
  2. Your current registration card or registration number.
  3. Pencil tracing or printed photo of the Hull Identification Number.
  4. Completed and signed application.
  5. Registration fee.

Do I have to register my boat in South Carolina? – Related Questions

How much is the fine for unregistered boat in SC?

In South Carolina, the SC Department of Natural Resources (SCDNR) could issue a fine of up $600 plus a misdemeanor charge.

Do I need a bill of sale for a boat in SC?

A South Carolina boat bill of sale is a legal document that records the transfer of ownership of a vessel. It is part of the state registration process and is required to obtain the decals needed to operate boat in the state.

Does a boat bill of sale have to be notarized in South Carolina?

The bill of sale or boat title must be presented as proof of ownership. Complete the Watercraft/Outboard Motor Application, which must be signed by the buyer and the seller. The seller’s signature must be notarized.

Does a boat bill of sale need to be notarized in SC?

Notarized if required. The original title/titles are required if you purchase a boat/motor from a titling state. If the title has a place for a notary’s signature then it must be notarized. Copies will not be accepted.

Does a bill of sale have to be notarized in SC?

Does a bill of sale have to be notarized in South Carolina? No. A vehicle bill of sale for a private party transfer does not need to be notarized.

How much is it to register a boat in SC?

Fee Amount Type of Fee
$10.00 Renew Boat Registration – Annual Registration Renewal
$20.00 In State Change of Ownership – SC Boat Registration and Title (Only for boats that are currently registered/titled in South Carolina)
$10.00 Watercraft Title (unpowered vessels)

Do you pay boat taxes every year in SC?

The expiration month of your boat’s current registration decal will be the month property taxes and registration renewal fees (for the upcoming year) are due, and most boaters will pay the annual fee as part of their new tax bill. An exception will be boats that a county has determined no longer have any taxable value.

How often do you pay property taxes on a boat in SC?

For example, if the boat registration expires in June, then both property taxes and annual registration fees for the coming year will be due in June. (Again, current three-year registrations will be valid until the year of their expiration).

Where do I pay taxes on a boat in SC?

Beginning January 1, 2020 boats, motors, and watercraft will be taxed in the manner as vehicles. If you purchase a boat from an individual, you will need to visit your County Auditor’s Office to get a bill created and pay it in the Treasurer’s office prior to going to SCDNR to get your stickers.

How do I register a boat in SC without a title?

If you purchase a watercraft and/or an outboard motor without a title then you will need to obtain the proper chain of paperwork from previous owner(s), along with the fees and then you will need to complete an Affidavit In Support for Application for Title for Watercraft/Outboard Motor.

Do you have to have boat motor title in SC?

S.C. Law prohibits the sale or purchase of an outboard motor without a valid title issued in the seller’s name to assign over to the purchaser at the time of sale. All outboard motors five (5) horsepower and greater are required to be titled since July 1, 1974.

Is boat insurance required in South Carolina?

Boating insurance is not required in South Carolina. However, as personal injury lawyers, we can’t stress enough the importance of obtaining insurance. It is very cheap in comparison to automobile insurance, so there is really no excuse to pass on boating insurance.

How can I get a title for a boat without a title?

To get a title for a boat without a title you will need to contact your local Department of Motor Vehicles. Each state has different legislation regarding boat titles, so you could also need a bill of sale from the boat owner you are buying from, in order to prove ownership of the vessel.

How do you find a VIN number on a boat?

If you’re trying to obtain a boat’s VIN, or hull identification number – HIN as they are referred to in the boating industry, you can use Boat History Report ( to run the state registration number or US Coast Guard Documentation number.