Can you fish in Illinois without a license?

A license is required for fishing in all Illinois waters, including lakes, reservoirs, rivers and streams. Licenses are not required for anglers who are under the age of 16, blind or disabled anglers, or residents on active military service.

How do I get a free fishing license in Illinois?

Where do I get a fishing license in Illinois?

The most convenient way to buy an Illinois fishing license is online at the Department of Natural Resources website. Any license purchased online can also be reprinted at no charge.

How much is a fishing license for senior citizens in Illinois?

Resident Licenses/Permits
Name Fee Available Online
Resident Senior Fishing License $7.75 Online
Resident Senior Hunting License $6.50 Online
Resident Senior Sportsmen’s Combination Hunting/Fishing License $13.50 Online
Resident Sport Fishing License (24 hour) $5.50 Online

Can you fish in Illinois without a license? – Related Questions

How many rods can you fish with in Illinois?

And then in Georgia, you can use as many rods as you’d like except while fishing for trout which limits anglers to one rod each.

The freshwater rod & reel limit for every state in America:

State Lines Allowed Special Notes
Illinois 2 3 while ice fishing
Indiana Unlimited
Iowa 2 3 while ice fishing

How old do you have to be to fish without a license in Illinois?

Anyone under the age of 16 in Illinois does not need a license to fish.

How old is a super senior in Illinois?

Open To: Members and Non-Members: Participants aged 60 and over as of August 31, 2021. Handicap Index Limit: less than 14.0.

How much is an Illinois lifetime fishing license?


Does Walmart sell Illinois fishing license?

Yes, you can buy a perfectly legal fishing license from any US-based Walmart by speaking to the staff in the Sports & Outdoors section. Expect to pay between $11 and $40, depending on the state, your age, and how long the license will be valid for.

How much is a ticket for fishing without a license in Illinois?

– Fine for Fishing Without a License in Illinois

Illinois has very high fines. If you are a repetitive offender, you may get one year of prison sentence and $2500 fine. But luckily if it is your first time, you will pay a lot less, around $100. This state has rules similar to those applicable to drivers.

What size fish can you keep in Illinois?

Illinois Fish Size and Limits

For Illinois, there is no nationwide limit for white and black crappies, bluegill, and redear sunfish. For fish such as striped bass, white bass, and yellow bass, the maximum length you are allowed to catch is 17 inches. Anything over is unlawful.

How much is a hunting and fishing license in Illinois?

Name Fee Available thru Vendors
Resident Hunting License $12.50 Vendor List
Resident Lifetime Hunting License $360.00
Resident Lifetime Sportsmen’s Combination Hunting/Fishing License $765.00
Resident Senior Hunting License $6.50 Vendor List

Can I hunt on my own land without a license in Illinois?

In general, anyone wishing to hunt in Illinois is required to purchase a hunting license. There are some exceptions to this requirement. Anyone born after January 1, 1980, will need to complete a Hunter Safety Education Course before obtaining a hunting license. Proof of completion must be available while hunting.

Does Illinois have a lifetime hunting license?

Lifetime License holders are extended the same non-commercial fishing and/or hunting privileges as residents holding an annual license of the same type. License privileges can be revoked in the event of Fish and Aquatic Life or Wildlife Code violations.

Can you shoot a deer in your backyard in Illinois?

Hunting is also allowed on private property IF you have received prior permission from the landowner or tenant. IDNR has a Land Access Permission Card to facilitate this approval. “Property Only Hunting” permits are available to landowners who meet the requirements.

Can you hunt deer on your own property without a license in Illinois?

A Hunting License is required in the state of Illinois to hunt any game animal.

Can you hunt deer with an AR 15 in Illinois?

Effective Jan. 1, 2023, any rifle chambered in a legal caliber and either manufactured or modified to be a single shot (capable of holding only one round in the magazine and chamber combined) may be used to hunt deer.