Can you fish in Georgia without a license?

Both fishing the public waters of Georgia and hunting require licensing.

What age do you need a fishing license in Georgia?

Georgia law requires anglers age 16 and older to have a current Georgia fishing license in their possession while fishing in fresh or salt water in Georgia. Licenses may be purchased online, in person at participating locations, or by phone. Your purchase supports the conservation of Georgia’s aquatic resources.

Can you fish in Georgia without a license? – Related Questions

How much is Georgia fishing license?

Annual fishing or hunting licenses good for 365 days from its purchase date cost $15 each for state residents. Discounted short-term licenses from one to 10 days are also available for residents and non-residents. A basic one day fishing license for non-residents is only $10.

How many rods can you fish with in Georgia?

There is no restriction on the number of poles and lines used to fish for game fish except: Fishing for trout in designated trout waters: 1 pole. Fishing on Public Fishing Areas: 2 poles. Sport shad fishing: 2 poles.

Does a 14 year old need a fishing license in GA?

Fishing License: $50 annual | $10 for one-day & $3.50 for additional days. Nonresidents 16 years of age and older must have a fishing license to fish in fresh and salt waters of Georgia. This license covers basic fishing privileges.

How much is a senior fishing license in Georgia?

Recreational Fishing License Fees
License Age Resident
Senior Lifetime Sportsman’s License 65+ $70.00
Senior Lifetime Hunting License 65+ $35.00
Senior Lifetime Fishing License 65+ $35.00
Free Senior Lifetime Sportsman’s License (born on or before June 30, 1952) see License Requirements FREE

What size fish can you keep in Georgia?

12 inches statewide except: Lake Blackshear: 14 inches.

Can you keep a shark if you catch it in Georgia?

Most sharks with an interdorsal ridge caught in Georgia waters will be included in the “prohibited” or “no harvest” categories. If you are not sure of the species and whether you may keep it, release it.

Can I sell the fish I catch in Georgia?

Game fish from a pond may be sold when the owner of the pond has obtained a valid permit from the Department of Natural Resources Law Enforcement Section and the permit is displayed in a prominent place at the pond. A permit will be issued only once annually and limits the time for taking fish from the pond to 15 days.

How many bass can you keep in GA?

Game Species Daily Limits
Species Daily Limit
Bass Largemouth, Redeye (Coosa), Shoal, Smallmouth, Spotted, and/or Suwannee bass 10
Catfish Channel and/or Flathead No limit
Crappie Black and/or White 30
Pickerel Chain, Grass and/or Redfin 15

Can you fish after dark in Georgia?

Anglers Can:

Fish at night, except on Dockery and Rock Creek lakes. See Trout Fishing Hours for details.

Where is the best place to fish in Georgia?

Top Fishing Parks on Major Georgia Lakes
  • Lake Allatoona – Red Top Mountain.
  • Lake Blackshear – Georgia Veterans.
  • Lake Burton – Moccasin Creek.
  • Clarks Hill Lake – Elijah Clark | Mistletoe.
  • Lake Hartwell – Hart | Tugaloo.
  • High Falls Lake – High Falls.
  • Lake Lanier – Don Carter.
  • Lake Richard B.

Can you fish with goldfish in Georgia?

Invasive species can damage the ecosystem. Thick-headed minnow, shad, mosquitofish, golden lusterfish and goldfish may be used as live bait in all waters of legal areas where fishing with live bait is permitted. It is legal to transport these species in the waters of legal areas.

Do you bait bass at night?

Topwater of all kinds are great choices for nighttime fishing. Spooks, poppers, frogs, prop baits and anything that makes a disturbance on the surface can work well. However, buzzbaits take the top prize for night fishing. Since bass don’t see as well in the dark, they rely on their other senses to hunt for prey.

How much is the fine for fishing without a license in Georgia?

How much is a ticket for fishing without a license in Georgia? Fishing without a license in GA will cost you $170.00 fine, it almost seems worth the risk!