Can I get my Florida boaters license online?

How do I get my boating license in Florida?

How can I get my Florida boating license?
  1. Pay the one-time fee of $34.95 – free unlimited retries of the final exam.
  2. Study the Florida Boating Safety Course, and pass the final exam.
  3. Print your Certificate of Completion, and receive your permanent Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card in the mail within 3-4 weeks.

Is Florida boating course legit?

This course is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and is recognized by the United States Coast Guard. By successfully completing this approved basic boating safety education course you may qualify for reduced boat insurance premiums.

Can I get my Florida boaters license online? – Related Questions

How long does it take to get a Florida boaters license?

If your course provider automatically sends a request to FWC for your card, you should receive that card within 2 to 3 weeks.

How much is it to get a boating license in Florida?

Price and Payment

The total cost is $9.99. This includes $3.00 for the exam fee and $6.99 for access to study material and unlimited exam attempts. The state of Florida also offers an online exam with no study guide access. The total cost is $8.00.

Is a Florida boating license valid in other states?

If you’ve successfully completed an official boating safety course such as boat-ed or ilearntoboat, your boater education card is welcome in every state that requires mandatory boater education.

Is Ilearntoboat legit?

ilearntoboat is the only interactive course recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard, NASBLA, and local state boating licensing agencies. The course is $49.50 in every state and can be completed on a computer, tablet, or mobile device.

How many chapters are in the Florida boating course?

The boat safety course manual consists of five chapters packed with boating tips along with the nautical rules of the road.

What all do I need for my boat to be legal in Florida?

Vessels 16 to 26 feet
  • Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs)
  • Fire Extinguisher.
  • Visual Distress Signal.
  • Sound-producing Device (bell, horn, whistle, etc.)
  • Backfire Flame Control.
  • Ventilation (Boats built prior to Aug.
  • Ventilation (Boats built after Aug.
  • Vessel Lighting.

How far offshore can I take my boat?

A small inflatable boat can travel out 1 to 2 miles, a 20-foot center console can handle 5 to 10 miles offshore, and a cruiser can travel hundreds of miles. These numbers are just ranges, and the maximum safe distance you can go depends on the weather, your boat, and how good a captain you are.

Is it legal to boat at night in Florida?

Personal watercraft may not be operated from 1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise, even if navigation lights are used. Remember, both federal and state law requires the use of navigation lights from sunset to sunrise.

Can you drink alcohol and drive a boat?

There are currently no national laws against recreational users navigating on water while under the influence of alcohol.”

Can I anchor my boat anywhere in Florida?

Under Florida law, boaters who use their boats for navigation (even if only occasionally) cannot be restricted from anchoring by a local jurisdiction (city or county) outside of permitted mooring fields.

How long can I anchor my boat in Florida?

The vessel may anchor for 3 business days or until the vessel is repaired, whichever occurs first. (b) If imminent or existing weather conditions in the vicinity of the vessel pose an unreasonable risk of harm to the vessel or the persons onboard unless the vessel anchors.

Can I beach my boat in Florida?

All ocean beaches in Florida are public access from the water. If you rent a boat you can anchor and come ashore on this or any beach.

Can you just anchor your boat anywhere?

Despite what you see in the movies, you can’t moor or drop anchor just anywhere. Most cities and states have mooring restrictions or location requirements. Furthermore, there are some spots where it just isn’t safe to leave your boat parked for very long.

Can you tie a boat to a buoy?

Cleat both ends of your bow line to the bow of your boat. Never tie the yellow pick-up line directly to your boat as it puts undue stress on the mooring anchor. Never stern tie to a buoy either as this is both dangerous to you and your boat, but also puts undue strain on the mooring system.